Didja miss me?

Hi! How the hell are ya!? What’s happening!?

Well, as you can see from the date of my previous post, I’ve been offline for ohhhh about 10 months. I haven’t actually been offline, in a coma or something – I just haven’t been writing about comic books. Or even reading them, for that matter…

So what happened? Well, truth be told, I got a little burned out. Not of the comic books per se, but rather of the self-imposed obligation to write a big review after each book. I got comics all tangled up with the pressure of this big writing task, and unfortunately, it took all the fun out of it. So I had to walk away for a while.

What have I been doing? Well, I spent 2 weeks in India (for work). When I got back from there, I finally purchased a banjo, and I’ve been spending a lot of time teaching myself how to play it. I also watched some good TV series, like Hell on Wheels, and Game of Thrones. I became so obsessed with Game of Thrones that I actually read the first two books. Yes, I read two “normal” books – no pictures or nothin’! I know, the horror, right? Plus, I put a couple hundred miles on the bicycle exploring Minneapolis’s wonderful trails. And, I’ve still got those three kids, so yeah, my schedule has been pretty full, even without this blog.

Which gives me a bit of pause that jumping back into this might be a little reckless. But I do still love comic books, and I always took pride in the body of information (and opinion) that I was building here. So hey, I’m going to give it another shot. But I’m also going to try to make it a little easier on myself. I may not review every single book I read. The reviews probably won’t be quite as long (or quite as boozy). But I’ll still try to make them useful, otherwise what’s the point?

I just read my first comic in 10 months – “You’ll Never Know, Book 1: A Good and Decent Man”, by Carol Tyler. It felt good. I’ll tell you about it soon. Plus I’ve got some other good ones on order down at the local library, including picking back up on the Scalped series, which I’m pretty stoked about.

I’m excited to get back into this! Let’s resume our journey together, shall we?

Happy reading. 🙂

This entry was posted in Discussions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

